Love Basingstoke Logo

Local businesses celebrate success at Inspire business awards

The annual Inspire Business Awards, run by Basingstoke based Destination Basingstoke, was created in 2005 to celebrate the successes of local businesses in north Hampshire. It has become a highlight in the business calendar and this year saw the awards ceremony move to The Anvil to celebrate employees and employers and achievements big and small.

We were delighted to see the number of Basingstoke and Deane based businesses winning awards.

Category: Business of the Year (Over £1million turnover) – sponsored by Absolutely Offices
WINNER: Phillips Law

Located on London Street, at the Top of The Town, Phillips Law is highly recommended by The Legal 500 and recently picked up the award for Professional Services at the Central South Business Awards.

Category: Entrepreneur of the Year – sponsored by Menzies
WINNER: Farah Fonseca

Farah founded Fonseca Fitness in 2012 and is its head coach. Farah has worked with thousands of women to help them to become the best version of themselves.

Category:  Employer of the Year – sponsored by RealityHR
WINNER: ResourceiT Consulting

ResourceiT is based at Chineham Business Park and is a technology channel marketing agency.

Category:  New Business of the Year – sponsored by TrustMark
WINNER: Physical Balance

Physical Balance provides health and wellbeing services from its clinic located in Daneshill,  Basingstoke. The business has grown quickly and stepped away from how rehabilitation and care businesses are normally run.  

Category: Business and Community – sponsored by Destination Basingstoke
Fortem Financial Management Limited

Fortem Financial provides a wide range of services for those looking to build, grow, protect or preserve their wealth. The company was awarded for the work it does to provide financial education in schools in the Basingstoke area.

Category: Service Excellence – sponsored by Morr & Co Solicitors
Minerva Procurement Consultancy Services Ltd

Minerva Procurement Consultancy helps school business managers to save time and money.

Category: Young Business Person of the Year – sponsored by Minuteman Press
Michaela Hamilton

After finding herself furloughed, Michaela launched a marketing agency designed to support small businesses. Through the networking she did with her agency, she found a timelapse camera company up for sale – and bought it – not knowing anything about timelapse cameras.

Category: Environmental Responsibility – sponsored by Vitacress
WINNER: The Typeface Group

The Typeface Group is a Hampshire-based BCorp communications agency and design studio, simplifying complex comms and providing flexible marketing support to busy marketing teams in the clean energy, housing and construction sectors. The judges commented that The Typeface Group clearly prioritise the environment in everything they do, not just in their working lives but personal lives too.

Category: Wellbeing at Work – sponsored by Festival Place
WINNER: Basingstoke College of Technology

Basingstoke College of Technology (BCoT) is a leading further education college that offers full-time and part-time advanced vocational and technical qualifications, together with apprenticeships, higher education, professional and leisure courses. The judges commented: "Working together as a team, across their different disciplines, Team BCoT ensure wellbeing at work is at the heart of what they do."

Category: Diversity and Inclusion Champion – sponsored by Sovereign
Willows Coffee House

Willows is an independent coffee shop based on Cross Street in Basingsoke town centre. Willows provide a warm and safe place for all members of the community to enjoy.

Category: Small Business of the Year – sponsored by RSM
WINNER: Indigo Bakes

Indigo Bakes is a traditional Artisan Bakery, using authentic natural ingredients and methodology. It is family run with family values instilled into its teams.

Winner of Winners is Phillips Solicitors, with Michaela Hamilton and Physical Balance being the finalists/highly commended for this award.

 July 2023

Share this article: